Veggiephile

Healthy Breakfast Muesli Pancakes

It’s Sunday and that is my favourite time to make pancakes for breakfast! It just gives me such a homely feeling and a sense of “real” weekend. I often make them still in my pajamas and then (still in my PJs) enjoy a long breakfast with my beloved ones, talking, eating, talking, eating,…

Sometimes I feel though that the pancakes shouldn’t be too unhealthy. You know, all the white flour, sugar etc. I want to do my body some good, even though it is Sunday. So I came up with a recipe that combines the goodness of pancakes with the healthy benefits of a muesli. Why hadn’t I thought of that before?! Now I even have an excuse to dig into this tower of yumminess during the week. The pancakes are slightly denser than the normal fluffy ones, but are moist and rather filling. The cranberries give them a great fruity flavour without being too sweet. But of course you could also leave them out or replace them with other dried fruit (chopped) or seeds.

Stack of pancakes - the right way to start your Sunday!

Stack of pancakes – the right way to start your Sunday!

Here is what you need (yields about 7 medium-sized pancakes):

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

1/2 wholemeal flour (brown flour, stoneground)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/3 cup rolled oats

1 tablespoon ground flax seeds

1 tablespoon sesame seeds

1 heaped tablespoon  dried cranberries

1 pinch of salt

2 tablespoons agave nectar

1 cup plain or vanilla soy yogurt

6-8 tablespoons of dairy-free milk (depending how liquid the batter is when mixed together)

1+ tablespoon vegetable oil (I recommend sunflower or rapeseed/canola)

In a bowl combine the dry ingredients. Then quickly add the agave nectar, 6 tablespoons of the “milk” and 1 tablespoon of the oil. If the batter is too thick, add more milk, one tablespoon at the time. It should be slightly runny so the pancakes spread out a bit in the pan.

The pancakes sizzling in the pan. Oh the anticipation!

The pancakes sizzling in the pan. Oh the anticipation!

I used a non-sticky pan and heated about another tablespoon of oil on medium heat. Then I added about 2 tablespoons of the batter to make one pancake. Make sure your pan is not too hot as you want the pancakes to be well done and not burned on the outsides. After about 2 minutes flip the pancake over and let cook for another 2 minutes. Repeat until is batter is used up.

I then stacked the pancakes on a plate, filling each layer with either chocolate spread or peanut butter. You could also add more fruit between the layers, like banana (which I had at the side) or strawberries in spring. Or just pour maple syrup or agave nectar over it. Just as you would with “normal” pancakes. Best enjoyed warm, so dig in!

Time to enjoy your healthy pancakes!

Time to enjoy your healthy pancakes!

This entry was published on 13. October 2013 at 10:52. It’s filed under Breakfast, Food, Sweet Tooth and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Healthy Breakfast Muesli Pancakes

  1. This looks absolutely delish!

  2. Thank you so much! They also tasted really nice and filled me up until the afternoon – but then I also ate almost the whole stack by myself 😉

Leave a Reply

