Veggiephile
Chickpea cutlet Hummus Pita Sandwich by Veggiephile

Protein Bomb – Chickpea Cutlet Hummus Avocado Pita

Sorry for the two week quiet, I thought I would have more time over university term holidays (not that as a PhD student you ever have holidays…), but I was busy spending time with my friends and family. When you divide your time between two countries you kind of want to see as much of your loved ones as you can in the time you are around. So with the university work still to do the blog had to take a back seat. Hope you managed without me 😉

Nevertheless, I even managed to go to the gym once (I am so proud!). After I got home around lunch time I wanted a protein bomb. I still had some chickpea cutlets laying around that I made the night before. The recipe is from the great Isa Chandra and the cutlets are amazing. Super easy and quick to make, and SO yummy! I also had some hummus in the fridge that I made from the remaining chickpeas that I didn’t use for the cutlets. This sandwich is great. It is fresh, crunchy, light, but fills you up (I ate two of them). And you get so many nutrients. And protein. If anyone asks you again where you get your protein from you should shove this sandwich down their gob 🙂

Chickpea Cutlet Hummus Pita Sandwich by Veggiephile

Chickpea Cutlet Hummus Pita Sandwich

Here is what you need for 2 sandwiches:

2 chickpea cutlets (recipe over here at Post Punk Kitchen)

2 pita breads (I used wheat, but would use wholemeal next time)

4 tablespoons of home-made or store-bought hummus

1/2 small lettuce or one lettuce heart

1 medium-sized carrot, grated

1/2 ripe avocado

1/2 cup sprouted mung beans

Pop the pita breads into your toaster until they are hot and puffy. Cut them open and spread 2 tablespoons of the hummus on each bottom of the pita. Add a handful of lettuce on top, then divide the grated carrot on top of that. Cut the chickpea cutlets in stripes and put them on top of the carrot. Now spoon some of the avocado on top of that. Sprinkle some mung bean sprouts over and then close the whole thing with the top of the pita. To eat the sandwich is not as messy as it seems to be. And it will give you lots of energy to make it through the afternoon. Enjoy!

Chickpea Cutlet Hummus Pita Sandwich by Veggiephile

Chickpea Cutlet Hummus Pita Sandwich – ready to eat!

This entry was published on 17. January 2014 at 17:16. It’s filed under Food, Quick & Easy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Protein Bomb – Chickpea Cutlet Hummus Avocado Pita

  1. the sandwich that will get you “jacked”

Leave a Reply

