Veggiephile
Mango Cucumber Smoothie // by Veggiephile

Refreshing Mango Cucumber Smoothie with Mint

Some mornings I don’t feel like having a slice of bread or porridge first thing. So I make myself a smoothie or a juice. This one is quite a liquid smoothie, I didn’t want it to be too thick, but rather easy to drink and to get rehydrated. Also, I love that colour! This fresh green must be one of my favourites, and it just puts you in a good mood.

The recipe is inspired by a smoothie I had some years ago in the beautiful city of Cartagena in Colombia. After strolling around the old town for the afternoon in tropical heat, I felt thirsty and hungry. I found a little Indian veggie restaurant and they made me an amazingly refreshing smoothie with mango, cucumber and mint. It revived me in a flash (also their food was amazing). So this smoothie here is my take on their’s – and it reminds me of an amazing trip.

Cartagena in Colombia - great trip and beautiful city!

Cartagena in Colombia – great trip and beautiful city!

I included a little bit of fat in the smoothie (in this case coconut oil) so the body can absorb the vitamins easier. I think this smoothie with half a banana added would make a great pre-workout snack.

Here is what you need for one smoothie (about 250-300ml):

2/3 of a mango, cut into pieces

1/4 of a cucumber, cut into pieces

2 stalks of mint, leaves only

juice of 1/2 a lime

1 teaspoon coconut oil, melted

1 1/2 – 2 cups of water (or you could also use pineapple juice)

Combine all of the ingredients in a blender and mix until smooth and no lumps are left. Fill into a glass, decorate with a slice of cucumber and enjoy immediately.

Mango Cucumber Smoothie // by Veggiephile

Mango Cucumber Smoothie – get ready to be refreshed!

This entry was published on 20. March 2014 at 12:07. It’s filed under Drinks, Food, Quick & Easy and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Refreshing Mango Cucumber Smoothie with Mint

  1. Pingback: Travel on the Colombian Caribbean Coast – The Good, the Bad & the Ugly. Part I – Cartagena | Veggiephile

Leave a Reply

