Veggiephile
Rosemary Chocolate Cookies // by Veggiephile

Rosemary Chocolate Cookies – the PPK has done it again!

Sorry I haven’t been posting as regular as I used to. I promise improvement (again). Spring is finally here and I am so excited! I love it when everything is in bloom and the trees get fresh green tops. Must be my favourite time of the year. Also, it’s my birthday in spring, so there you go, I might be slightly biased. I have a pretty crazy 4 weeks ahead of me, mixing work and play I will be travelling to 5 different countries! First up is Greece (work), then Tuscany (play), then Germany (home), then Istanbul (birthday!!!), then Germany again, then the UK (work/2nd home). So I hope I can bring you new recipes and reviews from around the Mediterranean soon!

Rosemary Chocolate Cookies // by Veggiephile

Rosemary Chocolate Cookies – unusually tasty combination!

I honour of one of my favourite Mediterranean herbs, rosemary, I tried these amazing Rosemary Chocolate Cookies from Isa Chandra over at Post Punk Kitchen in Brooklyn. They are A-M-A-Z-I-N-G! It is an unusual combination, but tastes just great. The pine flavour of the rosemary goes really well with the chocolate. Of course, I tweaked the recipe a little. I just can’t help it, I don’t like to be told what to do, just pointed into a direction. Since I am not a huge fan of refined coconut oil I am using vegan butter instead. For the chocolate chips, I still had a bar of dark chocolate in my pantry, so I gave it the rolling pin treatment: break the chocolate into smallish pieces, put them into a plastic bag and smash onto the bag with a rolling pin. You won’t get all even chocolate chips, but nice chunks.

Rosemary Chocolate Cookies // by Veggiephile

Rosemary Chocolate Cookies – get ready for a taste explosion!

Here is what you need for about 20 small cookies (adapted from The Post Punk Kitchen):

1 cup soft (not liquid!) vegan butter (like Earth Balance or Alsan)

3 tablespoons of finely chopped fresh rosemary

1/4 cup granulated sugar

3/4 cup soft brown sugar

1/2 cup vegan milk (or you can even use water, no difference)

2 tablespoons ground flax seed

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 2/3 cups plain or all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips or chunks

1/2 cup cocoa nibs

Preheat oven to 180°C/350°F and line two baking trays with parchment paper.

In a bowl, mix margarine, rosemary and sugar. Beat well, with either a fork or a hand mixer. Add the milk, the flax seeds and the vanilla. Don’t worry if the water and the margarine don’t mix too well for the moment, once the flax curdles the mixture will be smoother. Add half of the flour, the baking soda and the salt. Mix thoroughly. You should now have the consistency of cake batter. Add the remaining flour, chocolate chips or chunks and the cocoa nibs. Mix until you have the consistency of cookie dough. Eat some cookie dough. Now form about 1 tablespoon full of dough into little balls with your hands. Place them on the parchment paper and gently press them down to flatten.

Bake for 10 to 15 minutes until the bottoms are slightly brown. I needed to flip the tray about 10 minutes into baking. It depends on your oven. Let them cool for a few minutes on the tray, then transfer to a cooling rack until cool. If you don’t have a cooling rack, let them cool on one side, then after about 10 minutes flip them so the bottom can cool as well. Store in an airtight container. Or enjoy straight away!

Rosemary Chocolate Cookies // by Veggiephile

Lovely suitcases provide the backdrop for these tasty Rosemary Chocolate Cookies.

P.S. The beautiful little cardboard suitcases are from Magpie, who provide the world with wonderfully designed vegan homewares. The plate I used to photograph the Chocolate Christmas Cake on is also from them.

This entry was published on 6. April 2014 at 20:23. It’s filed under Food, Presents from the Kitchen, Sweet Tooth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Rosemary Chocolate Cookies – the PPK has done it again!

  1. Wow – these sound and look absolutely incredible! I am in love with those cute suitcases too. What a great idea!!!

Leave a Reply

