Veggiephile
Pasta with breaded Aubergine // by Veggiephile

Pasta with breaded Aubergine

So, it is time I share a recipe with you again! I have been to Greece and to Tuscany in the past few weeks, tomorrow off to Istanbul for a few days for my birthday. A great way to spend spring! I brought back a lot of foodstuff from Italy, especially different pastas in the most awesome shapes, litres of olive oils, and some new recipe ideas. Now I have never been a great fan of aubergines (eggplants), it is just something about the consistency that I dislike. But I tried them in Greece again in some dishes and they are also big in Italy. I decided to give aubergine another try and me and my man loved it. So I am happily sharing the recipe with you. The bread crust provides a nice snap and the inside is chewy. I did not salt the aubergines before frying them, which people frequently do to get the water out of them. Oh and the pasta! I brought that back from Italy. It is from Barilla and they have developed some mini-pasta with 25% vegetables in them (probably aimed at kids, but hey, right up my alley). I saw two flavours, one mini-penne with zucchini and spinach, and one mini-farfalle with carrot and pumpkin. For this recipe I used the latter one. They are very nice and great to eat with kids, and you get an extra portion of veggies. Find the recipe for the easy tomato sauce I served them with further down.

Pasta with breaded Aubergine // by Veggiephile

Pasta with breaded Aubergine

Here is what you need for 2-3 portions of the breaded aubergine:

1 aubergine/eggplant

2 tablespoons plain flour

1 tablespoon nutritional yeast flakes (or omit for 1/2 teaspoon salt)

1/2 teaspoon coriander powder

1/2 teaspoon finely chopped rosemary

dash of pepper

1 cup bread crumbs

2 tablespoons olive oil

Wash the aubergine and cut it lengthwise into slices of about 1 cm (less than 1/2 inch). In a deep plate, mix the flour, yeast flakes, coriander, rosemary and pepper. Add about 1/2 cup of water and stir until a batter forms that has the consistency of a thicker pancake batter, but not as thick as cake batter. On a second plate, spread out the bread crumbs. In a pan, heat up 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat. The bread crumbs will absorb quite a bit of oil, so you should keep a little more handy. While oil heats up, batter your aubergines. Take a slice and place it first into the flour-water mixture, cover both sides with the mixture. Then place the slice into the bread crumbs and move it around until the slice is more or less evenly covered in bread crumbs. Place into the pan and fry until golden brown, then flip on the other side (takes about 3-4 minutes each side ). Use up all the slices of the aubergines like that. Serve hot with pasta, as a meat substitute or enjoy cold on a sandwich the next day.

Pasta with breaded Aubergine // by Veggiephile

Pasta with breaded Aubergine – ready to eat!

For the pasta I used Barilla Piccolini Mini Farfalle with carrot and pumpkin. I served the pasta and the aubergines with an easy tomato sauce:

200 ml of passata (plain tomato sauce)

100 ml oat cream for cooking

1 teaspoon paprika powder

1/2 tablespoon dried oregano

dash of each salt, pepper and sugar

dash of olive oil

In a pot, heat the passata with the oat cream. Add the spices. When the sauce is hot, turn off the heat and add a dash of olive oil. Give the sauce a stir and serve with the pasta. Enjoy!

This entry was published on 24. April 2014 at 14:20. It’s filed under Food, Pasta, Quick & Easy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Pasta with breaded Aubergine

  1. Joanna Sjösten on said:

    Hello!

    My name is Joanna and I have read your blog and I really liked your recipes! I work for a website called myTaste.com and I would love for you to join us! 🙂

    http://www.mytaste.com is a search engine that collects food blogs. We already have over 3000 blogs and if you join us you will take benefit from the trafic that we are sending to your blog.

    Hopefully with your recipes your blog will be on the top of the food blogs list! If you have any questions please don’t hesitate to contact me at info@mytaste.com

    To join myTaste, just go to http://www.mytaste.com/add-your-food-blog

    Best regards,
    Joanna
    mytaste.com

Leave a Reply

